Incoming President Burmaster to Start Aug. 18


The Frederick Community College family anticipates the arrival of Elizabeth Burmaster on Monday, Aug. 18, 2014, and welcomes her as its tenth and next president. She replaces President Doug Browning, who is retiring but staying part time until the end of December to assist with the transition. Burmaster looks forward to meeting with students, employees, and members of the community.

This is a homecoming of sorts for Burmaster, who grew up in Frederick and took classes at FCC as a student at Gov. Thomas Johnson High School.  She recently returned to Frederick from Rhinelander, Wis., where she has served as president of Nicolet College.

"It is my honor to serve as the president of Frederick Community College,” Burmaster said. “I look forward to working alongside students, faculty, staff, and members of a local community whose teachers helped form my own aspirations to pursue a career in educational leadership. Together, we can ensure that FCC remains at the forefront of community colleges by having a future characterized by innovations in teaching and learning, academic excellence, and success for all students."

Former FCC presidents include Duval Sweadner (1957-1967), Dr. Lewis Stephens (1967-78), Dr. Lewis Turner (1978-79), Dr. Jack Kussmaul (1979-86), Dr. Lee Betts (1986-97), Dr. Patricia Stanley (1998-2005), Dr. Carol Eaton (2005-2011); Dr. Frederico Talley (2012-2013) and Browning (2013-2014).

Read more about Burmaster here.