Student Clubs & Activities

MyFCCbeta

Clubs and organizations on campus are as diverse as our student population, offering students the opportunity to program events, meet students with similar interests, or simply enjoy quality entertainment both on and off campus. Clubs are open to all students on campus. To join a club, simply attend the meetings. Information on club meetings can be found by contacting the advisor listed or by stopping by the Center for Student Engagement (room H101).

FCC Campus

Adult Student Union - The Adult Student Union provides support, resources and fun to help busy adult students balance the demands of daily life. The club schedules both daytime and evening meetings. Any student attending FCC is invited to join. For more information, contact Stacey Yost at syost@frederick.edu.

Anime Club - Are you interested in making new friends, as well as learning about and watching anime? Then this is the club to join! For more information, contact Aaron Clayton at aclayton@frederick.edu.

Athletic Programs - - FCC students, faculty, and staff are welcome to use the Field House, D Building, anytime there are no scheduled classes, athletic practices or events, or prearranged use by outside groups. For more information, contact Rodney Bennett at rbennett@frederick.edu.

Big 6 - The Big 6 is a program designed to provide males of color the necessary support, academic development, and life training to succeed in college and in life. For more information, contact Chad Adero at cadero@frederick.edu.

Body and Mind Wellness- This club will aim to enhance your inner peace, along with your physical, emotional, mental and energetic balance. For more information, contact Marianne Dacey at mdacey@frederick.edu.

Business Club - Interested in the Business Field and all that it entails? The Business Club meets to discuss ways to improve business and techniques to promote business. For more information, contact Dave Hickman at dhickman@frederick.edu.

Ceramics Club - If you enjoy pottery, this club is for you. Join us as we promote understanding, appreciation and learning of the Ceramic Arts. We will hold monthly meetings on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at in F Building (F-121). For more information, contact Shane Sellers at ssellers@frederick.edu.

CRU Club - This student led movement seeks to introduce students to Jesus Christ, help them grow in faith, encourage them to passionately live life in a manner consistent with belief in God. For more information, contact Mike Pritchard at mpritchard@frederick.edu.

Elite 8 - The Elite 8 program provides females of color the support essential to their academic success. The program is based on 8 principles: academic excellence, sisterhood, healthy relationships, leadership, community service, perseverance, confidence and positive self-image. For more information, contact Persis Bates at pbates@frederick.edu.

Engineering Club - If you are interested in engineering or would like to become more aware of opportunities in the field of engineering, contact Bob Ford at bford@frederick.edu.

FCC Book Club - Interested in reading and discussing the latest novel, nonfiction or poetry book? This could be the club for you. For more information, contact Dr. Rich Fulton at rfulton@frederick.edu.

FCC Music Club - This club is for all those music lovers who enjoy playing music. Bring your instruments and join us as we play music on the lawn. For more information, contact Dr.Ted Taft ttaft@frederick.edu.

FCC Political Club - A non-partisan, issues-oriented group for students who wish to discuss or become more aware of the political process and local, state, and national issues in order to be a well-informed citizen. We also seek to help educate the community to help them make wise choices in the election process that determines who will represent them. For more information, contact Dave Hickman at dhickmann@frederick.edu or Ken Kerr at kkerr@frederick.edu.

FCC Running Club - Do you like to run for exercise, pleasure or both? This club will get your feet moving and your heart pumping. For more information, contact Yi Lin Liu at YLiu@frederick.edu.

FCC Theater - The campus drama group produces a lively season of plays in FCC's Jack B. Kussmaul Theater. Open to students, staff, and alumni, the plays provide opportunities for acting, stagecraft, and all aspects of theater production. For more information, contact Tad Janes at tjanes@frederick.edu.

Feminist Majority Club - This club works in pursuit of feminist ideals - social, political and economic equality for women, men, girls and boys. For more information, contact Dr. Jill Schultz at jschultz@frederick.edu.

Fencing Club - The Fencing Club is open to any student who is interested in learning more about fencing. It is an opportunity for fencers to hone their skills and have a time in which to compete. For more information, contact fencing@frederick.edu or Joe Marshall at jmarshall@frederick.edu.

Future Educators Club -The club will promote the acts of community service in the educational field, provide opportunities to explore various teaching strategies, and further educate individuals interested in education and teaching. If you are interested in becoming an active member, contact Delaine Welch at dwelch@frederick.edu.

Honor Students Association - The Honors Student Association (HSA) is made up of students who enjoy ideas and discussion. For more information about the Honors College and the opportunities available to you, contact Dr. Bruce Thompson, Honors Coordinator, at bthompson@frederick.edu.

L.I.F.E. - Love Is For Everyone - The L.I.F.E. Club offers social and support services for gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered students, faculty, staff and heterosexual allies. For more information contact either advisor, Delaine Welch at dwelch@frederick.edu

Maryland Student Legislature - This club encourages awareness, interest and participation in the Legislative Process of Maryland State Government and General Assembly. For more information, contact Dr. Michael Powell at mpowell@frederick.edu.

Math Club - The Math Club provides social and intellectual activities designed to introduce students to mathematics, and to offer a place and time for club members to broaden their knowledge of mathematics through the discussion of articles, books and challenging problems. For more information, contact Dina Yagodich at dyagodich@frederick.edu or Greg Coldren at gcoldren@frederick.edu.

Outdoor Adventure Club - For those who love the outdoors, FCC's Outdoor Adventure Club offers exciting adventures in caving, climbing, camping, white water rafting, backpacking, and more. Trips are determined by student input. For more information, contact Dr. Charlie Cottingham at ccottingham@frederick.edu.

Paralegal Students Association - The purpose of the Paralegal Student Association is: To encourage the attainment of the Paralegal Associate in Science Degree or Paralegal Certificate by students; To provide a network for interaction between the students in the Paralegal Program, paralegals, and others in the legal field; To elevate the standards for paralegals; To explore opportunities available to provide for paralegal positions in the legal field; and to promote the interests and professionalism of paralegals. The PSA maintains a website that is useful for upcoming and current events and information. For more information contact Tracy Parker at tparker@frederick.edu.

Phi Theta Kappa - Alpha Delta Sigma is the campus chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honors Society. While membership to Phi Theta Kappa is by invitation only based on cumulative grade point average and earned credit hours, the campus club is open to all students interested in leadership, scholarship, fellowship and service. For more information, contact Dr. Ken Kerr at kkerr@frederick.edu.

Read My Hands - The purpose of the Read My Hands Club is to enhance the learning experience of all students involved in or interested in American Sign Language (ASL) and the American Sign Language Studies program; to provide ASL users with a way to represent Deaf Issues and Foster Deaf Awareness through support of campus activities; to provide practice opportunities and interaction with members of the Deaf Community, thus encouraging proficient use of the language as well as cultivating appreciation and deep respect for Deaf culture. For voice callers, contact David Martin by video relay at 1.866.327.8877 and enter the phone number 301.624.2807. For VP or TTY call 301.624.2807 or send an email to him at dmartin@frederick.edu.

Spanish Club - Hola! We welcome all students interested in the Hispanic culture and language. We meet once a month. Come to our meetings to hear about our social and cultural events. For more information, contact Laura Cordova at lcordova@frederick.edu.

Student Newspaper - The Commuter reports on campus and community issues and events. All students, regardless of level of experience, are welcome to join an energetic staff. For more information contact Bryan Hiatt at bhiatt@frederick.edu.

Student Program Board - The Student Program Board is the campus programming organization. If you enjoy planning trips and events, or would like to learn how to, then this club is for you! For more information contact Kristi Mills at kmills@frederick.edu.

Veterans Club - The Veterans Club is a place where Veterans can come together for support, planned activities, local trips and guest speakers. For more information, contact Larry Huff at lhuff@frederick.edu.

 

Contact Information

Melissa Main
Assistant Director of Center for Student Engagement
301-624-2745

Frederick Community College