Change in Leadership at FCC

Frederick Community College has undergone a change in leadership with the appointment of Doug Browning as president effective Jan. 3, 2013, according to the board of trustees. President Browning replaces Dr. F.J. Talley who served as president since July 2012.

“We wish Dr. Talley the best in his professional endeavors,” said Dixie Miller, board chair. “We have tremendous faculty and staff, and we are confident that under President Browning’s leadership there will be no disruption of services for the thousands of students who take classes on our campus.”

In addition to Miller, other board members include Vice Chair Debra Borden, Marvin Ausherman, David Bufter, Nick Diaz, Donald Linton, and Doris White.

President Browning, who has served most recently as vice president for administration, will be president through June 30, 2014. He served as interim president for about a year after former FCC President Dr. Carol Eaton left to take the helm of Daytona State College.

“I am committed to advancing the mission of FCC during this time of transition,” Browning said. “FCC truly enhances quality of life and economic vitality in our region. I am honored to serve this institution as president and appreciate the board's confidence in my leadership.”

President Browning has been vice president for administration since September 2007. As the college’s chief financial officer, he has provided leadership on college-wide issues including policy development and strategic planning. He oversees operating and capital budgets, purchasing and procurement, the long-range facility master plan, construction projects, contracts and agreements, and campus safety and security.

Prior to joining FCC, President Browning was county manager for Frederick County and served previously as director of finance. He held earlier positions with Damascus Community Bank, Worcester County Government, Montgomery County Government, Stegman & Associates CPAs, and Farmers & Mechanics National Bank.

He graduated from the University of Baltimore School of Business with a Bachelor of Science degree (summa cum laude) in business, became a certified public accountant in 1973, and was designated a certified government financial manager in 1996.

Duval Sweadner was FCC’s first president from 1957-1967, followed by Dr. Lewis Stephens (1967-78), Dr. Lewis Turner (1978-79), Dr. Jack Kussmaul (1979-86), Dr. Lee Betts (1986-97), Dr. Patricia Stanley (1998-2005), and Dr. Eaton (2005-2011).

FCC serves more than 17,000 students each year who take credit and continuing education classes. As a learning college, FCC prepares individuals to meet the challenges of a diverse, global society through quality, accessible, innovative lifelong learning. The college has about 1,000 full- and part-time employees.